Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Valle Crucis

Latin for "Vale of the Cross," Valle Crucis is both a more rural and historic area of the high country. Since there are several sites listed in the national register of historic place, Valle Crucis was designated as North Carolina's first historic district.

During the past 25 years, Valle Crucis has transformed from a little-known rural community in western Watauga County to a popular destination for vacationers and new residents. The valley's scenic beauty and situation in the Blue Ridge Mountains have been major factors in the recent growth of Valle Crucis. Where crumbling buildings or open pastureland were once located in the 1970s, one can now find new and revitalized businesses catering to visitors, including beds and breakfasts and restaurants. The Mast General Store, located in the heart of the Valle Crucis community, is now a major stop for visitors to the area.

More history of Valle Crucis


Cloudia said...

Yeti- Enjoyed these two posts.
Is it called the "Piedmont?"

Yeti said...

Thanks Cloudia!! Nope..The foothills and piedmont area is east of us..It's the most northern west of our mountains which is called the high country..It's some beautiful country Especially Valle Crucis..

Cloudia said...

Thanks for teaching me!

Yeti said...

No Prob! Thanks for stopping by! :>)